FAUCONNET Bertrand

A word from
the artist.

“The fleetingness of a movement, the lightness of a flight, the grace of a silhouette, the depth of a look, the power of a smell awakens our senses.

The animal world has long been a source of inspiration for my drawings and watercolours. By chance, one day a friend commissioned me to create a sculpture. This realization was a revelation in the sudden life, that volumes made more present, palpable and instinctive.

My profession as a veterinarian leads me to understand anatomy, but also to observe and feel the animal as closely as possible. Living in the countryside between the Doubs and the Jura allows me to walk through forests that are still wild, where encounters with wildlife are so obvious that I want to sculpt them. I let myself be guided by my sensations: the memory of a woodcock with immense wings and a huge beak, the electric blue glitter of a kingfisher on the lookout, the stalking of a fox with its nose to the wind… The project sometimes takes time to mature, then its realization becomes imperative.

Thus, I first elaborate the internal structure: the metal rods, shaped and welded, trace the main axes. Then the metal plates cover the skeleton like multiple brushstrokes. It gives me great pleasure to give life to this metal, to see it bend, assemble, merge, until its forms and materiality finally evoke an energy.

Some of my originals are made in numbered bronzes at the Deroyaume foundry (Villers-sur-Port, 70), which sometimes allows me to take the colour elsewhere.

May this wonderful wild world remain the source of our inspiration and never become a distant memory!

Would you like to see more works of art?
2022 © SAB EXPO  |  Designed with passion byWEEB

FAUCONNET Bertrand

Sculpteur français

Un mot de l'artiste

« La fugacité d’un mouvement, la légèreté d’un envol, la grâce d’une silhouette, la profondeur d’un regard, la puissance d’une odeur réveillent nos sens.

Le monde animal a longtemps abreuvé mes dessins, mes aquarelles. Le hasard a voulu qu’un jour un ami me passe commande d’une sculpture. Cette réalisation fut une révélation dans la vie soudaine, que les volumes rendaient plus présente, palpable et instinctive. 

Ma profession de vétérinaire m’amène à appréhender l’anatomie, mais aussi à observer et à ressentir l’animal au plus près. Vivre dans la nature entre Doubs et Jura me permet d’arpenter des forêts encore sauvages où les rencontres avec la faune sont autant d’évidences, d’envie de les sculpter. Je me laisse guider par mes sensations : le souvenir d’une bécasse aux ailes immenses et au bec démesuré, le scintillement bleu électrique d’un martin-pêcheur aux aguets, l’affût d’un renard nez au vent… Le projet met parfois du temps à mûrir, puis sa réalisation devient impérieuse. 

Ainsi, j’élabore d’abord la structure interne : les tiges métalliques, façonnées et soudées, tracent les axes principaux. Puis les plaques métalliques recouvrent le squelette comme de multiples touches de pinceau. J’éprouve un véritable bonheur à donner vie à ce métal, à le voir se plier, s’assembler, fusionner, jusqu’à ce que ses formes et sa matérialité évoquent enfin une énergie.

Certains de mes originaux sont réalisés en bronzes numérotés à la fonderie Deroyaume (Villers-sur-Port, 70), ce qui me permet parfois d’emmener ailleurs la couleur.

Puisse ce merveilleux monde sauvage demeurer la source de nos inspirations et ne jamais devenir qu’un lointain souvenir ! »

Vous souhaitez voir plus d'oeuvres ?
2021 © SAB EXPO  |  Designed with passion byWEEB