MALO A.

A word from
the artist.

For many years, wild animals have been one of his favourite themes.

His work was first expressed through mixed techniques combining mainly watercolour, inks, ballpoint pen and pencils, whereas today he mainly uses acrylic paints. His preferred media are paper and wood; the hardness of these materials and their resistance to brushes meet his requirements.

Influenced for a long time by medieval art, his latest works are inspired by a very similar art form: Japanese folding screens, which are called “byōbu“. The points they have in common are gold leaf gilding and the importance of the animal world, which both create a strong symbolic charge when combined.

Gilding helps to breathe life into the model without recreating an illusionist setting; for example, it enables the artist to accentuate and direct the light, or to highlight a subject’s candour. Also, the grained quality of wood helps to recreate and give paintings a certain dynamic, particularly in the movement of water or wind in the sky.

Would you like to see more works of art?
2022 © SAB EXPO  |  Designed with passion byWEEB

Malo A.

Peintre

Depuis de nombreuses années les animaux sauvages sont un de ses sujets de prédilection.

Son travail s’est d’abord exprimé au travers de techniques mixtes, mêlant principalement l’aquarelle, les encres, le stylo à bille et les crayons, pour aujourd’hui utiliser essentiellement des peintures acryliques. Ses supports privilégiés sont le papier et le bois ; la dureté de ces matériaux et leur résistance sous les pinceaux répondent à ses exigences.

Influencée depuis longtemps par l’art médiéval, ses derniers travaux s’inspirent d’un art très proche, les paravents japonais, appelés « By­oby ». Leurs points communs sont la dorure à la feuille et l’importance du monde animal, apportant tous deux une forte charge symbolique.

La dorure aide à animer l’animal sans recréer un décor illusionniste ; elle permet par exemple d’accentuer et de diriger la lumière ou de mettre en évidence la candeur d’un sujet. Par ailleurs, le bois qui est un matériau nervuré participe à recréer et à donner une certaine dynamique aux peintures, tels que le mouvement de l’eau ou le vent dans le ciel.