BENOIT David

A word from
the artist.

David BENOIT is a contemporary sculptor born in 1968, living in Montpellier. In the 1990s, while working in a large national company at the forefront of 3D technologies, he began sculpting on computers left free at night by his engineering colleagues. A precursor in his choice of medium, he added clay and wax a decade later. This return to the original materials allowed him to capture the light more easily on his volumes in order to breathe life into them.

His training as an artist began in Paris, but it was only in Montpellier, with Eric Chatalin (a student of Charles Auffret 1929-2001), that he found his way. Combining architectural strength and inner life, he models both male and female nudes without abandoning animal sculpture.

This is how he created his first medium format sculpture “Tête de Toro I” presented in Arles for the 2009 Féria. In 2016, as a fervent admirer of the work of Rembrandt Bugatti, he created a bust of him for the centenary of his death. He then developed an exhibition entitled “Variations on the Antique”, followed by the “Mathematical Objects” series, which is more geometrically abstract. It was with the animal theme that he obtained his first national selections. The works “Cerf aux aguets” and “Eléphant en marche” mark a more radical orientation in his expression. Indeed, under the influence of animal artists such as Charles Artus, he pushes further his work of stripping, sobriety and research of minimal curves essential to the life of his bronzes. In June 2021, the group “Two Cheetahs” finally saw the light of day after several versions spread over several years. In September 2021, he takes a workshop to make his first castings.

Nov 2018: first contract for marketing works on the internet.

April 2019: first exhibition of bronzes at the Michel Perrier gallery in Avignon.

July 2019: first selection for the Salon National des Artistes Animaliers.

August 2019: first international exhibition at the Museum of the 20th and 21st Century in Saint Petersburg (Russia).

December 2019: first sales and private commissions.

February 2020: first selection of Art Capital 2020 at the Grand Palais (Société des Artistes

October 2021: first selection for the Salon d’Automne.

November 2021: first personal bronze casting at the David Benoît Foundry (AFDB).

Would you like to see more works of art?
2022 © SAB EXPO  |  Designed with passion byWEEB

BENOIT David

Sculpteur français

Un mot de l'artiste

David BENOIT est un sculpteur contemporain né en 1968, vivant à Montpellier. C’est dans les années 1990, alors qu’il travaille dans une grande entreprise nationale à la pointe des technologies 3D, qu’il débute la sculpture sur les ordinateurs laissés libres la nuit par ses collègues ingénieurs. Précurseur par son choix de support, il y ajoute une dizaine d’années plus tard l’argile et la cire. Ce retour aux matériaux originels lui permet de capter plus facilement la lumière sur ses volumes afin d’y insuffler la vie.

Sa formation d’artiste commence à Paris, mais ce n’est qu’à Montpellier, auprès d’Eric Chatalin (élève de Charles Auffret 1929-2001), qu’il trouve sa voie. Mêlant force d’architecture et vie intérieure, il modèle alors nus féminins et masculins sans délaisser la sculpture animalière.

C’est ainsi qu’il réalise sa première sculpture moyen format “Tête de Toro I” présentée à Arles pour la féria de 2009. En 2016, fervent admirateur de l’œuvre de Rembrandt Bugatti, il réalise pour le centenaire de sa disparition, son buste. Il développe ensuite une exposition “Variations sur l’Antique” puis la série « Objets Mathématiques » plus orientée vers l’abstraction géométrique. C’est avec le thème animalier qu’il obtint ses premières sélections nationales. Les œuvres « Cerf aux aguets » et « Eléphant en marche » marquent une orientation plus radicale dans son expression. En effet, sous l’influence d’artistes animaliers tel Charles Artus, il pousse toujours plus loin son travail de dépouille, de sobriété et de recherche des courbes minimales essentielles à la vie de ses bronzes. En juin 2021, le groupe « Deux guépards » voit enfin le jour après plusieurs versions échelonnées sur plusieurs années. En septembre 2021, il prend un atelier pour y réaliser ses premières fontes.

Nov 2018 : premier contrat de commercialisation d’œuvres sur internet.

Avril 2019 : première exposition de bronzes à la galerie Michel Perrier à Avignon.

Juillet 2019 : première sélection au Salon National des Artistes Animaliers.

Août 2019 : première exposition internationale au Musée du 20ème et 21ème siècle à Saint-Pétersbourg (Russie).

Décembre 2019 : premières ventes et commande privées.

Février 2020 : première sélection Art capital 2020 au Grand Palais (Société des Artistes Français).

Octobre 2021 : première sélection Salon d’Automne.

Novembre 2021 : première fonte de bronze personnelle Atelier Fonderie David Benoît (AFDB).

Vous souhaitez voir plus d'oeuvres ?
2022 © SAB EXPO  |  Designed with passion byWEEB