Patrick Villas

Belgian sculptor – Born in 1961

Patrick Villas is a contemporary Belgian sculptor, born in 1961, who currently lives and works in France. He exposes worldwide since 1991. The sculptor, passionate about the animal world, represents it under all its possible forms, with a particular fondness for big cats.

In order to understand the animals and the way they move, he spends a lot of time observing them in zoos. Villas doesn’t miss any detail, the animal’s posture is always dynamic, and their elegance and nobility are perfectly rendered.

He prefers a more brutal modelling style, working the material vigorously – but always with respect of the animal’s form and character. Even the final bronze reflects every detail of his touch. The strength, elegance and nimbleness of his models are revealed in a subtle game of light and shadow. The artist is also a talented painter, giving life to leopards or greyhounds with a few charcoal lines, sometimes enhanced with colours. With his nervous but self-assured charcoal strokes, he brings the animalier art form into the fold of Contemporary Art.

In 2014 the Taylor Foundation (F) awards him the Evariste Jonchère prize and in 2016, the Contemporary Art Centre of the Matmut (F) organises a retrospective of his works.

Patrick Villas

Sculpteur belge – Né en 1961

Né en 1961 à Anvers, Patrick Villas travaille et vit en France depuis 2010, il expose ses œuvres dans le monde entier depuis 1991. Il met son talent de sculpteur au service de sa passion et représente le monde des animaux sous toutes ses formes, avec une attirance particulière pour les félins.

Pour comprendre comment se déplace un félin et dans quelle position il souhaite le fixer, il passe de longs moments dans les zoos. Aucun détail n’échappe au sculpteur, la posture est toujours vivante, l’élégance et la noblesse de l’animal admirablement rendues pour notre plus grand plaisir.

Il préfère une approche plus brute, plus énergique de la matière en restant toujours fidèle aux traits et au caractère de l’animal. Même le bronze final semble conserver toutes les traces de son modelage. Toute la puissance, l’élégance, la souplesse de ses modèles émergent sous la lumière. L’artiste réalise également des dessins (félins, lévriers…) au fusain, juste rehaussé de quelques couleurs. Son trait charbonneux, racé et nerveux introduit l’art animalier dans l’art contemporain.

En 2014, il obtient le prix Evariste Jonchère décerné de la Fondation Taylor et en 2016, le Centre d’Art Contemporain de la Matmut lui consacre une rétrospective.