Sophie Dabet (SO)

French Sculptor — Born in 1972 at Champigny sur Marne

SO was born in Champigny-sur-Marne in 1972; following her studies in architecture and set design, and after many years as a plastic artist, she discovered her passion for sculpture, and decided to leave her other work to dedicate herself to this art.

Widely recognised today for her talent as an animal sculptor, SO carves directly in wood and stone with an expertise that seems surprisingly easy, as often occurs with artists who have a perfect control of their art. Several unique pieces have been cast in bronze and shown in a range of galleries.

She evokes her animals with an approach that in literature is called ellipsis, omission, or non-defined:  she uses the art of paring down and suggestion while maintaining a deep respect for the anatomy the subject. SO observes closely and assimilates the form to make it «real».  She likes to begin with a three-dimensional drawing. Sketching has remained a fundamental discipline, an essential prerequisite for any other form of art.  Far from wanting to establish her style through theoretical demonstration, she prefers to define her originality through subtle and sincere expression.

SO has been presented with a number of prizes and awards over the years : the Fondation Taylor Prize, the Gold Medal of the Salon des Artistes Français, the Gold medal of the Salon d’Art Animalier of Bry-sur-Marne, and several other awards.

Sophie Dabet (SO)

Sculpteur français – Née en 1972 à Champigny sur Marne

Née en 1972 à Champigny-sur-Marne, c’est après ses études d’Architecte-Scénographe et avec plusieurs cordes à son arc d’Artiste plasticienne que SO a trouvé dans la sculpture la passion d’une vie et a tout quitté pour s’y consacrer.

Aujourd’hui reconnue pour ses talents de sculpteur animalier SO travaille la pierre et le bois en taille directe avec une maîtrise déconcertante de facilité, celle des créateurs en parfaite possession de leur art. Ses pièces uniques sont ensuite traduites en bronze et exposées dans différentes galeries.

Elle « évoque » les animaux en pratiquant ce qu’en littérature on appelle des ellipses, des omissions, du non-représenté, c’est l’art du raccourci ou du sous-entendu tout en ayant un profond respect de l’anatomie du modèle, qu’elle scrute et apprend pour le rendre « vrai ».  SO aime commencer par un travail de dessin en volume, dessin qui pour elle demeure une discipline reine, essentielle et préalable à toute autre forme d’art. Bien loin de vouloir fonder son style par la démonstration théorique, c’est avec un naturel sincère et subtil qu’elle définit sa propre originalité.

Au cours de ces années, SO a reçu de multiples prix et récompenses tels que le prix de la Fondation Taylor, la Médaille d’Or des Artistes Français, la Médaille d’Or du Salon d’Art Animalier de Bry-sur-Marne et de nombreuses autres reconnaissances.